ALONE ONE's blog – AloneOne.com


Skid Row
October 2, 2008, 3:16 am
Filed under: Ramblings, Travel | Tags: , , , , ,

When I was younger, I had a simple solution for the homeless.. “Get a job you lazy fucks!”.  As I’ve gotten older, I’ve had a bit of a change in my attitudes. I’ve had some good friends that were homeless, and I’ve had some experience with my own ups and downs, and downs. Homeless people are not ALWAYS lazy, drug addict, losers. Don’t get me wrong, ALOT of homeless live lifestyles that I have no sympathy for, but they don’t all have the same situation. Sometimes the way shit happens in life can really fuck things up. Some people have no remaining friends or family to help them. Education in this country is not what I would exactly consider successful (even if you’re a well off white girl). The job market in America sucks. Even if you are fortunate enough to get a minimum wage job, and you get one of the few spots in a shelter to sleep and shower, saving up a few thousand dollars for first, last, and security on an apartment ain’t exactly that easy. Now imagine if you have a kid or (mental and/or physical) disability. Or if you ARE a kid (average age of the homeless in America is 9). 

In Los Angeles many of the homeless  live downtown in a 50 square block area known as Skid Row. It can be quite a disturbing and saddening area, and most Los Angelenos live by a simple solution to the problem.. avoidance. Turning a blind eye doesn’t make it go away, awareness is the first step to fixing the problem. 

Welcome to Skid Row, Los Angeles..

Watch the rest of this great documentary here.

This is a complex problem without a simple solution. If anyone wants to do anything to change this situation, please do the right thing and contribute what you can (time, money, food, IDEAS for better solutions)  and spread the word to others.


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I have actually seen the entire documentary before..and have a couple of friends who have to hoof it on the Row. One of them has actually become part of the staff at the midnight mission. I have been homeless off and on since I was about 3. There are alot of situations that play into having no where to go. It is some of the worst pain to be expeirenced. The feeling of hopelessness, abandonment, and solitude is horrific. Seems slightly ignorant to say, yet I say there is one common denominator of reasoning in all of this and that is that if people can again have a sense of hope, a motivational confidence that they arent forgotten and lost, there is a greater survival rate. If someone believes they can do something, wether they do it or not they are not going to give in to failure, only see it as a testimony of how to do things differently.
I know for Papa Roach, My skid row amigo, the fact that someone genuinly cared, and appreciated him for who he was and not what he was living, was an immense drive of hope for him.

Call me corny but I believe that the power of change begins with love. The humanity of sincere concern.

A.cake

Comment by April

My fellow on Orkut shared this link and I’m not dissapointed that I came here.

Comment by Ted Burrett




Leave a Reply

